Power and Functions of the Syndicate


20. Powers and functions of the Syndicate.

(1) The Syndicate shall be the executive body of the University and shall, subject to the provisions of this Act, and the statutes, exercise general supervision over the affairs and management of the University.

(2) Without prejudice to the generality of the forgoing powers, and subject to the provisions of this Act, the statutes and directions of the Senate, the Syndicate shall have the following powers namely:-

(a) to consider the annual report, the annual and revised budget estimates and to submit these to the Senate;

(b) to transfer and accept transfer of movable property on behalf of the University;

(c) to enter into, vary, carry out and cancel contracts on behalf of the University;

(d) to cause proper books of account to be kept for all sums of money received and expended by the University and for the assets and liabilities of the University;

(e) to invest any money belonging to the University including any unapplied income in any of the securities described in section 20 of the Trusts Act, 1882 (Act II of 1882), or in the purchase of immovable property or in such other manner, as it may prescribe, with the like power of varying such investments;

(f) to receive and manage any property transferred, grants, bequests, trust, gifts, donations, endowments, and other contributions made to the University;

(g) to administer any funds placed at the disposal of the University for specified purposes;

(h) to provide the buildings, libraries, premises, furniture, apparatus, equipment and other means required for carrying out the work of the University;

(i) to establish and maintain halls of residence and hostels or approve or license hostels or lodgings for the residence of students;

(j) to recommend to the Senate admission of educational institutions to the privileges of the University and withdraw such privileges;

(k) to arrange for the inspection of colleges and the departments;

(l) to institute Professorships, Associate Professorships, Assistant Professorships, Lecturerships, and other teaching posts or to suspend or to abolish such posts;

(m) to create, suspend, or abolish such administrative or other posts as may be necessary;

(n) to prescribe the duties of officers, teachers and other employees of the University;

(o) to report to the Senate on matters with respect to which it has been asked to report;

(p) to appoint members to various Authorities in accordance with the provisions of this Act;

(q) to propose drafts of statutes for submission to the Senate;

(r) to regulate the conduct and discipline of the students of the University;

(s) to take actions necessary for the good administration of the University in general and to this end exercise such powers as are necessary;

(t) to delegate any of its powers to any Authority or officer or a committee; and

(u) to perform such other functions as have been assigned to it by the provisions of this Act or may be assigned to it by the statutes.

Constitution of the Syndicate

Clause Provision in Para-19 (1) of the University Act Name Designation
(a) the Vice –Chancellor who shall be its Chairperson Prof. Dr. Mohammad Iqbal Khan Vice-Chancellor, STMU
(b) the Deans of the Faculties of the University Prof. Dr. Mohammad Amir Dean Faculty of Health Sciences
Prof. Dr. Raisa Gul Dean Faculty of Nursing & Midwifery
Prof. Dr. Tausif A. Rajput Dean Faculty of Pharmaceutical & Allied Health Sciences
(c) three professors from different departments, who are not members of the Senate, to be elected by the University Teachers in accordance with procedure to be prescribed by the Senate. Prof. Dr. Muhammad Saeed Shafi Professor of Anatomy, SCM
Prof. Dr. Ayesha Junaid Professor of Hematology/ Pathology
Prof. Dr. Gulshan Ara Saeed Professor of Obstetrics & Gynecology
(d) Principals of the constituent colleges Prof. Dr. Mohammad Amir Dean Faculty of Health Sciences
Prof. Dr. Tausif A. Rajput Dean Faculty of Pharmaceutical & Allied Health Sciences
(e) the Registrar Prof. Dr. Ahsan Hameed Registrar
(f) the Treasurer Mr. Usman Ali Treasurer/CFO
(g) the Controller of Examinations Prof. Dr. Muhammad Iqbal Controller of Examinations