Functions and Responsibilities of Graduate Studies and Research Management Council

(1) Prepare regulations for Graduate Programs and get these approved by the Academic Council.

(2) Review proposals of Graduate Programs and recommend these to the Academic Council for approval.

(3) Evaluate existing Graduate Programs to ensure their standard and give suggestions for improvement.

(4) Ensure the quality of Graduate Students, particularly those entering M. Phil and Ph.D. programs.

(5) Ensure continuous progress on Graduate thesis and help remove bottle-necks.

(6) Give final approval to Ph.D. theses, and recommend the award of degrees.

(7) Recommend research measures deemed necessary for creating research environment, research facilities and generate motivation for research.

(8) Form rules to govern, regulate and facilitate research activities and recommend these to Academic Council for approval.

(9) Consider research proposals to be submitted to university or external agencies for funding.

(10) All other matters related to Graduate Studies and research activities of the university.

Constitution of Graduate Studies and Research Management Council

Clause Provision in para-12 of the University Statutes Name Designation
(a) the Vice Chancellor who shall be its Chairperson Prof. Dr. Mohammad Iqbal Khan Vice-Chancellor
(b) the Deans of the Faculties Prof. Dr. Mohammad Amir Dean Faculty of Health Sciences
Prof. Dr. Raisa Gul Dean Faculty of Nursing & Midwifery
Prof. Dr. Tausif A. Rajput Dean Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences
(c) the Registrar Prof. Dr. Ahsan Hameed Registrar, STMU
(d) the Controller of Examinations Prof. Dr. Muhammad Iqbal Controller of Examinations, STMU
(e) the Principals of the colleges and such heads of departments as may be prescribed Prof. Dr. Tausif A. Rajput Chairperson, Shifa College of Pharmaceutical Sciences
(f) One university teacher other than professors from each department offering research program(s) to be nominated by the Academic Council Dr. Abdus Salam Khan Department of ER, Shifa International Hospital
Prof. Dr. Sagheer Ahmed Academic Adviser, Shifa College of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Mr. Wasim Ahmed Acting HOD Management Sciences
Mrs. Nafisa Iqbal Vice Principal Shifa College of Nursing
(g) Three members from the Research Organizations and Government Departments to be nominated by the Syndicate Dr. Shagufta Khalique Department of Human Genetics, University Health Sciences, Khayaban-e-Jamia Punjab, Lahore-54600

94-B/1, PGEH Society, Lahore

Dr. Qasim Ayub Staff Scientist & Molecular Biology, Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute, Wellcome Genome Campus, Hinxton, Cambridge, CB 10 1SA, U.K
Dr. Aisha Khurshid International & Comparative Education, Department of Education Leadership & Policy Studies, Florida State University, USA
(h) Three senior professors to be nominated by the Vice Chancellor Prof. Dr. Muhammad Zameer Professor of Anesthesiology, Shifa International Hospital
Prof. Dr. Ayesha Mohyuddin Professor of Biochemistry, Shifa College of Medicine
Dr. Ejaz A. Khan Consultant Pediatrician, Shifa International Hospital